Tennessee Chapter - Nashville Area

Print Email

2014 Officers:

President: Holly Noble

Vice President: Jason Parker

Treasurer: Laurie Hoffma

Secretary: Connie McKee



Upcoming Event: Chapter Meeting, February 12, 2014 at noon

Program:  Amy Fair, Director of Donor Services, Community Foundation of Middle Tennessee

Brown bag lunches are welcome. Meetings are the second Wednesday of each month from 12:00 - 1:00 p.m.

Address and Parking: Metro Government Offices, Lindsley Hall, 730 2nd Avenue South, Nashville, 37210. Free parking is available. Meeting will be located downstairs in the University Training Room


The Nashville, TN chapter was well represented at the National conference in Indianapolis, IN. Click Here for the Press Release for more info.


In a 2004 meeting at Loews Vanderbilt Hotel to kick off local planning for the 2006 GPA National Conference in Nashville, Bill Smith suggested that pulling off a conference would be easier if chapter members helped with the various responsibilities. The only trouble with that suggestion was that there existed no Tennessee chapter. Joani Sarkiss, incoming GPA Chaptering Committee Chair who was also present at that meeting, challenged Bill to become GPA's first State Representative in Tennessee, and to start a chapter.

In December 2004, Nashville area grants professionals came together to form the Tennessee Chapter. The chapter's first president was Sandra Jordan-Freeman.

In the first two years, the chapter focused on preparations for the national conference. The Host Conference Committee was led by Dr. Bernard Turner, who had championed the idea of a Nashville conference from the beginning.

In Dr. Turner's absence at the December 2006 meeting, the chapter elected him their second president. Also absent, Laura Gore was chosen Chapter Secretary. Ever since, members have been cautious to not miss December meetings.

January 2008 Update: ...and, in fact, the tradition was kept alive when, at the December 2007 meeting, David Murray and Jane Murray were elected Treasurer and Secretary, in absentia.